What Is The Difference Between "cessation" and "fading away"?

From SN 46:13

It’s when a mendicant develops the awakening factors of mindfulness, investigation of principles, energy, rapture, tranquility, immersion, which rely on seclusion, fading away, and cessation, and ripen as letting go.

What is meant by “seclusion”? Does it mean the 7 factors referred to happen during meditation, and that meditation requires physical seclusion?

If so, how does that square with the advice of many meditation teachers, including some famous monastics, who advised monastics that is useful to learn to meditate, as well as be cool despite noise?

What does “fading away” mean?

What does “cessation” mean?

What/who fades away or ceases?

Thank you.

1 Like

I am no expert, but quite interested in this sequence too, looking forward to an answer from someone with more expertise. I try to make sense of the sequence and the meaning of cessation via the meaning of “fading away” (virāga) as disappearance of and dispassion toward the 5 senses.

The awakening factors are developed by the seclusion to letting go sequence. For some reason I would have thought the awakening factors would lead to this sequence rather than support them.

Here is some more questions and possible meanings with the Pāli as the heading:

… upekkhāsambojjhaṅgaṁ bhāveti awakening factors development

vivekanissitaṁ - Reliant on seclusion
I think of this as the seclusion of the mind from the senses - you have cittaviveka (mind seclusion) and kayaviveka (physical seclusion) as separate elsewhere in the canon but maybe this just means broad seclusion, or both. I take it to mean cittaviveka shutting off of the 5 senses, just mind active.

virāganissitaṁ - Reliant on fading away