Wikipedia article on EBTs

What does this community think of the Wikipedia article for ‘Early Buddhist Texts’:

I am a wiki editor and can edit the page if anyone has good ideas for important additions or changes that the article might need.

12 Likes

Minor note?
Seems odd/ confusing same article says
“In [Mahayana] Buddhism, these texts are sometimes referred to as “[Hinayana]” or “[Śrāvakayāna]” texts and are not considered Mahayana works”

and “Mahayana treatises also sometimes quote EBTs.”

Also… those labels are considered by some to be pejorative.

Thank you for volunteering.

1 Like
  1. Does “Early Buddhist” specify or estimate an actual time period historically?

2. Is “Early Buddhist” synonymous with “Pre-sectarian Buddhist”?
    The cross-reference on Wiki looks a bit tautological.
    Pre-sectarian Buddhism - Wikipedia

1 Like

Regarding the article on EBTs, you may add the following ideas:

Only some Pali/Chinese collections are closer to the early Buddhism. This is based on the current findings by Yinshun regarding the compilation of the Pali nikayas/agamas and their Chinese counterparts:

•SN/SA was the foundation of the four nikayas/agamas in the formation of early Buddhist texts.
Yinshun suggests that SN/SA (ie. the synthesis of the first three angas: Sutra/Sutta, Geya/Geyya, and Vyakarana/Veyyakarana) came into existence first, and that subsequent expansion of it yielded the other nikayas/agamas in the sequence MN/MA, DN/DA, AN/EA.

•SN/SA (the synthesis of the first three angas) had its origin in the first council. The Sutra-anga portion of SN/SA was the earliest of the three angas.

•MN/MA, DN/DA, and AN/EA orginated at the second council. (Sutta-nipata, Udana and Dhammapada compiled in the Khuddaka-nikaya rather than being made part of the four basic nikayas/agamas).

•The extant SN/SA (and also other nikayas/agamas) are definitely sectarian texts. One can seek an understanding of early Buddhist teachings by studying them comparatively.