A comparison of the (Maha)Satipatthana Sutta

Just finished reading the middle length discourse. It’s my first sutta I’ve actually read all the way through. (I’m new to this.) VERY interesting! I see in the longer discourse that a lot is added about the Truth of Suffering. I don’t understand why there is a middle length discourse and a longer one. Did 2 different people remember these differently and they developed separately or did someone purposefully cut something out of one? I feel like my question about what can be known is answered at length in this sutta. (Thanks to you and all in this thread.)

2 Likes

I’m so glad you read the sutta and found it interesting. It’s really a foundational text for many Theravadin Buddhists.

As for why there are two versions in two different nikayas, well, that’s a very good question! (Although not really related to the ‘knowing’ question.)

It seems more likely that material was added to the longer version. But some people feel the sutta is somewhat of a ‘composite’, that it was assembled of various pieces at some later time, rather than a teaching the Buddha gave as one piece. I believe Ven. Sujato has written a whole book that addresses this issue!

That being said, I think the instructions contained in the text are extremely valuable, and regardless how the sutta was remembered or constructed, deserves much attention and study.

1 Like

:tada::tada::tada:
May there be many more!

If you want to go with a “non-text-critical” approach, one could easily imagine that the Buddha would sometimes want to go into more detail sometimes than others. Or if his audience needed to focus more on the body section, he might leave out some of the detail in the Dhamma section. Really, if one imagines the Buddha’ 40 year teaching career the possibilities are endless. And perhaps not that important.

2 Likes