Pajānāti or "knowing" - What can we know?

Not sure which category this belongs to. I’m hearing someone’s teaching about “knowing”. Here are some of the notes I took (below). I’m interested in reading much more about this but find little about it on the internet except to point to suttas which are confusing for me. I’m a newbie to suttas and I need some help in interpreting. In particular, I want to understand what kinds of things we can know. The person I am listening to listed a few things which are also below but I wish I could find some further reading to help me clarify. Anything you know about I could read?

My notes:
Knowing is different from awareness. Knowing is the clear recognition of some aspect of the present moment. Knowing has a beginning and an end. Awareness is the capacity to register what’s happening in the world, the flow of experience. Knowing is more intimate than awareness. It is a moment of heightened awareness. It is not the same as mental noting. It’s more intentional and conscious. Practicing knowing can help us live in awareness more fully. Knowing takes effort. Our relationship to the knowing is important because it can change the knowing (contract it). Pajanati. There is freedom in knowing.

What can we know?

• Length of breath

• Different qualities of the mind when the mind is caught up or not caught up in greed, hatred and delusion (e.g. clinging)

• When we are having a liberating insight

• After a person has had a deep release, they know how they are changed

• The entire course of practice, before, during, after enlightenment

1 Like

We can know that all conditioned things are impermanent, ultimately unsatisfactory, and devoid of a permanent essence.

And we can know if we understand those qualities or not.

4 Likes

We can know old age and death are impending even though youth and health are all that is evident.