A nice basic introduction and guide to the Suttas?

Hi everyone. I’m wondering whether you can help me out. I’m looking for an introduction to the suttas. The plan is to either host it or link to it on the new version of SC. It’s to be targeted for absolute beginners, with no assumed knowledge of Buddhism or the suttas. It need not be written: a video would be great, too.

The classic essay on Access to Insight called Befriending the Suttas is a pretty good example of what I’m after. But for a few reasons I’m not 100% happy with it; for example, it focuses on Theravada, which is something I’d like to avoid.

Anyway, if you know of something like this, I’d appreciate if you let me know.

5 Likes

Bhante,
I’ve written an introduction to Buddhism that is based entirely on the EBT, though not specifically an systematic overview of the suttas. Maybe you are looking for something like U Ko Lay’s Essence of the Tipitaka (I don’t know if that is on-line). Anyway, my book is Buddhist Life/Buddhist Path. I wrote it over many years as I’ve repeatedly taught a 12-week class and could only find Theravada sources. My book follows the gradual instruction.
BC

7 Likes

In the Buddha’s Words by Bhikkhu Bodhi or the Dhammapada.

1 Like

There’s nothing entirely suitable out there on the internet at least that I would consider a good introduction. Considering it is aimed at newcomers (intelligent, young people who are spiritual seekers) would need a few characteristics like:

1. Appealing and not dry - perhaps with links to videos, stable wiki content, etc to make it varied and interesting; not secularized, but accessible as is possible.
  2. Authoritatively cover a range of EBT concepts, which would cover most of the dhamma, ie leaving out minor points (eg: the ogha- repetitive conceptual categories come to mind…). An overall framework (eg: the Four noble truths or other simple format would help structure it so it aids retention)