Are Men allowed to visit Bikkhuni monasteries to learn Dhamma

Are both Bhikkhus anad Bhikkhunis allowed to stay in the same Monasteries? Are men allowed to visit Bhikkhuni monasteries to learn Dhamma?

3 Likes

Warm greetings Luis,

Bhikkhus and Bhikkhunis, and other males and female and, by extension, other genders, may stay in the same monastery given the right housing is available. Generally this is considered to be “under a different roof,” which might be construed as a different wing of the same building or might be a separate building. Other interpretations are also possible and may vary from monastery to monastery. It may be that some monasteries may even consider the ceiling of different rooms sufficient. How the rules are held is determined by each monastery, so it is good to ask about their policies and practices.

I am still studying this rule so can’t give details on the Pali and commentaries yet, only the current ways of holding it.

I don’t know of any Bhikkhuni monasteries where this is not allowed, at least as a day visit or to attend particular teaching events. Many bhikkhuni monasteries don’t have overnight accommodations for men due to limited resources or space; although some, just as the bhikkhu monasteries might do, may not wish to take on navigating the full set of Vinaya regulations that come with providing sleeping accommodations for what is perceived as the ‘opposite gender’, i.e. males in a bhikkhuni monastery and females in a bhikkhu monastery.

With kind care,
Venerable Niyyanika

12 Likes

Practices would vary according to country, lineage and leader’s discretion. Among those open to the idea, practical concerns make it unlikely.