How walks the Sangha?

You know, I’ve been practicing Dhamma for over twenty years, and studying Pali almost as long. One of the very first passages anyone learns is the recollection of the Triple Gem, including the Sangha:

suppaṭipanno bhagavato sāvakasaṅgho, ujuppaṭipanno bhagavato sāvakasaṅgho, ñāyappaṭipanno bhagavato sāvakasaṅgho, sāmīcippaṭipanno bhagavato sāvakasaṅgho

And yet it is only today that I realized a basic fact about this passage: these phrases almost all describe a kind of motion. Of course, the key term paṭipanna, “practicing”, or “entered the way”, etc. is based on a motion metaphor. But I never noticed that this is reinforced by the prefixes.

This is not the impression conveyed by most translations. Here, for example, is Ven Bodhi’s latest rendering, from Numerical Discourses:

The Saṅgha of the Blessed One’s disciples is practicing the good way, practicing the straight way, practicing the true way, practicing the proper way

Apart from “straight”, none of these terms really relate to motion.

But let’s look at the Pali prefixes:

• Su- = good: this is the only generic one. It can of course refer to motion, but is not specific.
  • Uju = straight: Obviously this is based on a motion metaphor, in the sense “direct, straightforward”. Usually this comes through in translations.
  • Ñāya = procedure: As I discussed in a previous post, this is from ni = i where i means “to go”. It means “procedure, process, method”, i.e. progressing step by step.
  • Sāmīci = go together: This is from sam + i where sam means “together” and i means “go”. While etymology is a poor guide to meaning, this sense is in fact attested in the Vedas. It is very similar to ñāya.