Keeping the vinaya

Hello,

As an interested layman, I am keen to know to what extent vinaya is kept by monks of Theravada Buddhism. Following some recent discussions online with a monastic and layman in Myanmar regarding the widespread use handling of money by monks, I am somewhat concerned about the long-term impact of this on both the Sangha and the laity in terms of their faith in the Triple Gem.

I was wondering if someone could give me an idea as to the general consensus amongst the Sangha on the issue of keeping the vinaya and whether there is ā€˜room for manoeuvreā€™ on some rules so as to avoid confusion as to whether vinaya is being kept or not?

Thank you

10 Likes

My impression is the Sangha has no power to enforce the Vinaya, which is why in countries like Thailand the police are often asked to arrest a wayward or defeated monk.

Therefore, I would also like to ask here: ā€œHow does the Sangha actually enforce the Vinaya?ā€

:seedling:

1 Like

This has been the case since soon after the Buddhaā€™s death; it was a major issue at the Second Council. To get an idea of the scale of the problem, most of our information on ancient Indian coins, including both coins and means of manufacturing them, has been recovered from Buddhist monasteries.

Only a tiny proportion of Theravadin monks, maybe 5%, keep the rule on money.

Of course there is a degree of flexibility in the Vinaya, but most of the time it is just ignored. Many monks do not even know the basic rules such as parajika.

It can only really be enforced within a monastery, if the abbot decides to do so. In certain lineages, such as the Ajahn Chah tradition, Vinaya is observed. In many others, it isnā€™t, at all.

Any attempts by State authorities to enforce the Vinaya are a demonstrable failure. They might pick up a few drunk monks or whatever, but as long as the problem is not too public nothing is done.

14 Likes

this is :frowning2: