On Drums and Pegs

In SN 20.7 we have a memorable little story about a people who used a drum and kept repairing it until the original had vanished. This is used as a simile for the disappearance of the Dhamma. As people stop reading and studying the suttas, gradually the true teaching will vanish. There’s a Chinese parallel at SA 1258.

As often happens in the suttas, the overall intent of the story is clear, but the details are much less so. In fact as a musician I have always found the translations somewhat puzzling, so a bit of research is in order.

The commentary to the text has a long and fun background story involving a huge crab and a mountain troll, but I will leave that aside.

Let’s start with the text and Ven Bodhi’s translation to get orientated:

Bhūtapubbaṃ, bhikkhave, dasārahānaṃ ānako nāma mudiṅgo ahosi. Tassa dasārahā ānake ghaṭite aññaṃ āṇiṃ odahiṃsu. Ahu kho so, bhikkhave, samayo yaṃ ānakassa mudiṅgassa porāṇaṃ pok­kha­ra­phala­kaṃ antaradhāyi. Āṇisaṅghāṭova avasissi.
Once in the past the Dasārahas had a kettle drum called the Summoner. When the Summoner became cracked, the Dasārahas inserted another peg. Eventually the time came when the Summoner’s original drumhead had disappeared and only a collection of pegs remained.

There’s a number of puzzles here, so let’s take them one by one.

Who are the Dasārahas? And why did they have a drum, with which they were so closely identified? If the drum was a mere ceremonial or musical instrument, why is it so remembered? And how are we to explain the name?

As far as I know, they’re not mentioned anywhere else. The same name is found in SA 1258: 陀舍羅訶. A literal translation is the “ten-takers”. The commentary explains this as they took 10%. I like this explanation, and I think it unlocks a key to what is going on here.