Problem with the one-size-fits-all approach to teaching Dhamma?

In a paper by John L. Kelly, The Buddha’s Teachings to Lay People, which I’ve found incredibly helpful, it’s shown that the Buddha’s teachings varied according to the background of the listener(s). He didn’t give the exact same instructions to everyone.

Taking this into consideration, when teaching the laity today, perhaps it would be more appropriate to focus more on the teachings directed to them, and less on the teachings directed to monastics. Personally, as a lay follower, I’ve found the teachings to lay people to be far more pertinent.

What are your thoughts?

6 Likes

In a perfect world, teaching the Dhamma would be tailored to the specific listener. I am very new to the practice but have had the good fortune to find teachers who have taken the time to show interest in my specific life situation and which aspects of the Dhamma are of greatest help to me beginning my practice.

It’s sort of like secular teaching; it is more effective to tutor one person or teach a seminar of twenty students than to lecture an auditorium of five hundred. Ever look out over the faces of students in a large lecture hall at a big public university in the United States (where I happen to live)? You will find a lot of blank expressions, compared to what you find in a small seminar room with twenty students who have the ability to engage with the instructor on a personal level.

4 Likes

I agree. my personal experience is that lay people, at least the majority of them, do not want to get into deep Dhamma. They are pre-occupied with worldly affairs. In a way this is very unfortunate, in that they miss out on the opportunity that they have to practise Dhamma. By teaching them teachings directed to lay people, if they at least observe the five precepts, that will be an achievement.