Reincarnation

As I am new to Buddhism, I really don’t have a firm grasp on the teaching of reincarnation. I guess I can start with what I know, and then go from there. I understand that there are six realms that we can be reborn into: Hell, hungry ghost, animal, human, heaven, and one more that I don’t remember the name of. I am sure that it gets even more sophisticated than that.

One reason that I have found reincarnation easy to believe, is because it makes sense (aside from the evidence of some people remembering past lives and past-life regression done by certain psychologists).

However, as I probably will not find Nirvana in this life, how can I be sure that I will find my way back to Buddhism in the next life? What if I spent all this life trying to see the truth, then after dying, I become evil in the next life? Is there a way to be sure that we can get Buddhist parents in the next life so that we can more easily begin the path again? I would love to be born into a Buddhist home so that I can quickly become a monk in the next life and find salvation.

Does anyone here remember anything from their past lives? How many lives have you been a Buddhist?

3 Likes

Just out of curiosity, what interferes with you becoming a monk in this life?

2 Likes

Just to let you know that we have really great search functions here. just press the Q in the menu bar and type in what you’re looking for.

Reincarnation is one of the staple topics here, there are over 50 previous threads on that topic. Have a look through those, to see if you have any questions left over :slight_smile:

this is the search link

https://discourse.suttacentral.net/search?q=reincarnation

4 Likes