What is the traffic flow of SC?

How many users are there in SC central at a given time?
For example, Dhamma Wheel shows the total users are online at a given time.
Is it possible to display this information (some statistics) to the public in SC?
It is interesting to see how many people are benefited from our effort.

I take it that you mean the Discuss & Discover forum and not the SuttaCentral website. There are separate statistics for both, and as an admin I can see this, but it is not visible for users.

For the website, our new design does not feature such a function and for the forum, the Discourse package is not able to do so. There are some discussions about such a feature on meta.discourse.org:

1 Like

As one indication of traffic, here are the page views for the past 30 days, as calculated by Discourse itself for the forum, and by Google Analytics for the main site. These numbers are not trivial to calculate; for example, what does a page view mean on an infinite scrolling app like Discourse? So I wouldn’t take these as being directly comparable, but they’ll give you some idea.

• SuttaCentral: 181,574
  • Discuss & Discover: 265,200
3 Likes

What is the growth rate of SC (only if readily available)?

These are some old stats from last year:

https://discourse.suttacentral.net/t/discourse-statistics-2016/3937?source_topic_id=7077

I haven’t made any new ones. Might do it for the end of the year again.

1 Like

Here’s the Google analytics sessions (not page views) for the main site for the past year.

2 Likes

Google Analytics is blocked by adblockers like uBlock Origin, so it won’t be accurate. For page hits, server-side statistics will be better.

1 Like

Agree.
In statistics what is important is the trend rather than the real numbers.
It is good to know the real numbers if they are available.

Yes, we should pay more attention to this. But at least it should depict the overall trend.