Which Tradition to follow

Dear Friends, may the causes and conditioning and all emotional defilements be removed along with your suffering. I am a Newbie-at least in this incarnation. I am confused about the choices of necessity for having a particular school or tradition of Buddhism. I realize that all these roads must lead to Buddha, and that to become too attached to a tradition is antithetical to Buddhist principles. Yet all of Buddhism seems organized in this way. Could you share your wisdom regarding this quandary. Thanks and NAMASTE

April

5 Likes

Hi Rosie,

Never fear, many of us feel the same way. :relaxed: For myself, i donā€™t really identify with any tradition. What matters for me is the Dhamma, and I try to live in accordance with that. I find many things in the traditions that support this, and other things that donā€™t; thatā€™s okay, none of us are perfect! So if you find that a tradition or an aspect of a tradition is supporting you to find peace and wisdom, great, if not, leave it aside.

But I think it is important that we avoid over-identifying with any tradition. If we believe that any one tradition is the true and best heir to the Dhamma, weā€™re setting ourselves up for disappointment. Itā€™s just not that simple.

22 Likes

Thank you for the clarification which is similar to my thinking. In fact arenā€™t organizations of any kind, civic or religious, empty of inherent existence? Therefore isnā€™t any passionate support or defense of a particular group or tradition rendered impermanent or dependent arising phenomenon?

1 Like

You donā€™t really need to follow any particular tradition. Pick and choose whatever helps you in your path. One thing that is important though is to define what are you looking for? What is the goal of your search?