BuddhaNexus.net launched!

We finally launched the site in cooperation with the Numata Centre of Buddhist Studies at the University of Hamburg and the Khyentse Center for Tibetan Buddhist Textual Scholarship!

So now you can use it to find parallels within Pali, Sanskrit, Tibetan and Chinese.

We are working on multi-lingual matches, especially between Sanskrit and Tibetan first and later between Pali and Sanskrit. But this will take a while before we upload this. It is rather complicated to calculate these with the limited resources we have. You can however use the known parallels on SuttaCentral to find a starting point within another language.

Because the site is rather complicated, I created some unofficial videos to show you how you can use this and how it links to texts in SuttaCentral. I thought it would be easier to do this than to try and type it all out.

Now I am far from a professional video creator but I hope it gives a bit of an idea of how you can use the site. Note that the screencapture software I used seems to sometimes miss pop-ups and dropdowns, especially in the second video. Some of the features on the site changed a bit since I made the video. F.i. sutta/PTS-number search is now available on all texts in all views except Graph view. There is also a copy button to allow you to copy text names to clipboard and the possibility in Numbers View to choose between opening the full text in SuttaCentral or BuddhaNexus.

If you want to know more about how the Neural Network works and the algorithms used, you can find that information in the static pages of the site.

Some examples on how BuddhaNexus.net can be used for finding parallels:

38 Likes

Heartfelt congratulations for this achievement! :heart: :pray:

The overall design looks great. I’d certainly like to explore the site a bit more in detail when I find the time, which at the moment is rather not the case …

Keep up the good work, and good luck!

13 Likes

Sadhu!