Launching SuttaCentral Editions

I’m very excited to announce a major new feature for SuttaCentral! We are now publishing major translations as books. You can order paperback copies via Lulu print on demand, or download and read versions in PDF, EPUB, and HTML.

Go to the Editions page here!

This is something I have been working towards for many years, and I’m so happy to see it finally come to pass. Thank you so much to all those who have helped make it possible, including all our donors, the good folks on this forum, our wonderful development team Blake, Hongda, and Sabbamitta, the awesome folks at STXnext who did the bulk of the programming, Deepika who organizes most things, Carmi for her careful and patient work, and so many more.

Meanwhile, let me share some of the background to this work.

what makes a book?

On SuttaCentral we publish essentially translated texts, with some other material like notes and essays. But it is very much built around the concept of a “sutta” as the building block of SuttaCentral. The web rewards “random access” to information, rather than the sequential reading that is provided by a book. The suttas as texts fit sort-of-in-between these two models, as they are mostly independent, but there is also meaning to their arrangement.

To create our editions, we compile all the suttas from a given collection and organize them according to their traditional divisions. They are then supplied with accessory matter such as introductions and the like.

The end result is a work that rewards careful and attentive reading. The web excels in letting you look up what you want, when you want, where you want. A book asks you to slow down. It invites you to pause and savor a phrase. To fold it shut for a moment and reflect. To let the meaning sink in.

books: form and content

In the past, a “book” was a physical object with printed content. Different “editions” of the same book might vary a little, but that’s the basic idea.